Diablo® III

[Long Question] How does damage work in Diablo 3?

Hello!

I'm kind of new to Diablo and I was wondering if anyone could explain the damage system to me without going into too much depth with formulas etc.

For example, here is my current weapon: http://i.imgur.com/ndjYX.jpg

• 34.7 Damage Per Second
  • 17-32 Damage
  • 1.42 Attacks Per Second
  • +55 Vitality
  • Increase Attack Speed by 9%
  • I understand that whatever the stats of a weapon, the damage they produce will be increased by the attributes of my character; In my case, intelligence (Wizard).

Here's the first thing that confuses me:

My weapon has a DPS of 34.7, but the 'Damage' it states ranges from 17 to 32... that's 2 less than the 34.7... So WHY does the 34 even exist if it can't be achieved??? With a range of 17-32, I assumed the MINIMUM damage I would EVER do (unless debuffed etc.) would be 17 and the MAXIMUM damage (excluding buffs and attributes etc.) would be 32.

Next Thing:

So I'm a wizard with 515 Intelligence (Includes the +Intelligence from all weapons/armour.)

When I hover over 'Intelligence', the tool-tip tells me that Intelligence:
    "Increases all damage for Witch Doctors and Wizards by 515%"

(See: http://i.imgur.com/2khOu.jpg)

So does this mean that, for example, if I had 200 Intelligence and I did 10 damage with any weapon, having that 200 intelligence as a Wizard would actually make the weapon's damage 20, not 10?

Another Thing:

If I have a weapon that says "Increases attacks speed by 10%" does that mean that, if I already had an attack speed of 1.00 (one attack per 1.00 second), my attack speed would become 0.90?

... Well that's it!

Thank you for reading (If you bothered to get to the end!) and if you want to reach me in-game, my Battletag is: Conway#2835

Bye for now :)
    Reply Quote