Diablo® III

SC2 style map creation....

Hey All,

I had an interesting thought the other day while playing SC2. Why cant blizzard create a map "Designer" tool for people to use like in SC2.

That way people could design different maps ect with different objectives and different variations.

All they would have to do is limit the amount or type of monsters to a certain amount of points I.E. on a map you are only allowed say 10 000 monster points and in the tool each monster along with difficulty would have a scalable points system. Allowing you to create different maps with totally differant monsters ect that you are able to play and break the boredness of the acts now.

It would also pretty much kill half the posts on the forum because most of the posts are about "PvP" and not enough variation in maps and play. They could do what they did with SC2 and use the internet as their ally to do most of the work for them...they just need to put the tool out there.

Im no programmer so i wouldnt know the mechanics behind it all and if its viable or not but if you look at SC2 it cant be much more differant and im sure people out there would love to create new "Side Objectices" ect
Reply Quote
Its proably viable but also would be very much abusable. Somone would within minutes create an optimized farming map. What comes to my head is first look at the easiest elite typ then a long narrow passage with elite group after elite group after elite group + 100s of gobling spawns 100% of the time mixed up with the elites.

Or maybe even better. 5 goups of elites in a passage with just enought distance to kill them one group at the time. Then a field so dense with goblins that you can almost not pass thrugh them but also constructed in a way that the goblins cant run that faar. Then AoE the !@#$ out of all of them at once. rince and repeat...

..that s why.....