Diablo® III

A WD's Guide to Acronyms and Abbreviations

Top Tip for finding what you need faster...use the Ctrl+F function!!!

0-9

0dog (aka c4dogs, aka sac build) - Zero Cooldown to Zombie Dogs (Used in Sacrifice Builds) - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/witch-doctor#gdVYUX!hdY!ZcYZaY (My personal Build)

A

AC - Acid Cloud - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/acid-cloud
APS - Attacks Per Second
AR - Acid Rain - One of the more important runes of Acid Cloud.
AR - All Resistance or officially: Resistance to all Elements
AS - Attack Speed

B

bbv - Big Bad Voodoo - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/big-bad-voodoo
BJM - Blackthorns Jousting Mail - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/blackthornes-jousting-mail
BM - Bad Medicene - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/bad-medicine
BR - Blood Ritual - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/blood-ritual
BT - Blackthorns

C

CC (aka ChC) - Critical Hit Chance
CD (aka ChD) - Critical Hit Damage
CD - Cooldown
CoB - Cloud of Bats - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/firebats
CoL - Circle of Life - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/circle-of-life
CS - Corpse Spiders - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/corpse-spiders

D

DE - Demonic Essence
DPS - Damage per Second

E

EE - Exquisite Essence - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/exquisite-essence
EF - Echoing Fury - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/echoing-fury
EMP - Efficient Mana Points.

F

FA - Frightening Aspect - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/horrify#best
FB - Firebats - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/firebats
FL - Fierce Loyalty - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/fierce-loyalty

G

GotD - Grasp of the Dead - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/grasp-of-the-dead
Gary- Loveable name of our friend the Gargantuan.
GF - Gruesome Feast - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/gruesome-feast
GI - Grave Injustice - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/grave-injustice

H

HB - Hungry Bats - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/firebats
HFR - Hellfire Ring - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/artisan/jeweler/recipe/hellfire-ring-of-intelligence
Hommy - Homunculus - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/homunculus
Hg - Health Globe Bonus
HG - Honoured Guest - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/spirit-walk

I

IAS -Increase Attack Speed
IC - Ice Climbers - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/ice-climbers
Innas (usually in our case a reference to Innas Temperance - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/innas-temperance
IT - iridescent tears - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/iridescent-tear

J

JF - Jungle Fortitude - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/jungle-fortitude

K

Kermit (the frog) - Thing of the Deep - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/thing-of-the-deep

L

LoH - Life on Hit
LS - Locust Swarm - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/locust-swarm
LS - Lifesteal

M

MC - Mass Confusion - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/mass-confusion
MCK - Manajumas Carving Knife - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/manajumas-carving-knife
MGF (aka Chicken) - Manajumas Gory Fetch - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/manajumas-gory-fetch
MpK - Mana per kill.
MR - Mana Regeneration.

N

O

OOM - Out of Mana

P

PB - Plague Bats - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/firebats
PD - Poison Dart - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/poison-dart
PoT - Plague of Toads - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/plague-of-toads
PtV - Pierce the Veil - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/pierce-the-veil
PuR - Pick up Radius
Q

Quet - Quetzalcoatl - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/quetzalcoatl

R

Red - Recuction of Mana Cost
ROE - Rush of Essence - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/rush-of-essence
RoT - Rain of Toads - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/plague-of-toads

S

SA - Spiritual Attunement - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/spiritual-attunement
Sac - Sacrifice - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/sacrifice
SB - Spirit Barrage - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/spirit-barrage
SG - Skull Grasp - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/skull-grasp
SH - Soul Harvest - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/soul-harvest
SoJ - Stone of Jordan - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/stone-of-jordan
SoS (aka string or strings) - Zunimassa's String of Skulls - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/zunimassas-string-of-skulls
SV - Spirit Vessel- http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/spirit-vessel
SW - Spirit Walk - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/spirit-walk
SyS - Swallow your Soul - see Soul Harvest.

T

TotD (aka Frog) - Thing of the Deep - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/thing-of-the-deep
TR - Tribal Rites - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/tribal-rites
TRA - Tal Rashas Allegiance - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/tal-rashas-allegiance
TRRP - Tal Rashas Relentless Pursuit - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/tal-rashas-relentless-pursuit

U

US (aka Snake) - Uhkapian Serpent - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/uhkapian-serpent

V

VB - Vampire Bats - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/firebats
VoG - Visage of Giyua - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/visage-of-giyua
VQ - Vision Quest - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/vision-quest
VS - Vengeful Spirit - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/soul-harvest
VW - Vile Ward - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/vile-ward

W

WH - Witching Hour - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/the-witching-hour
WoS - Well of Souls - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/spirit-barrage

X

XP - Experience Points

Y

Z

ZB - Zombie Bears - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/zombie-charger
-ZB - Reference to Reduced Mana Cost to Zombie Bears - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/zombie-charger
ZD - Zombie Dogs - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/active/summon-zombie-dogs
ZH - Zombie Handler - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/class/witch-doctor/passive/zombie-handler
Zuni - Zunimassa
ZV - Zuni Vision - http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/item/zunimassas-vision

I'll add more as i get time :)
Edited by Arbeia#2259 on 11/08/2013 07:52 BST
Reply Quote
Reserved
Reply Quote
Reserved
Reply Quote
Nice guide Arb!

In B you can add bjm ;)
Reply Quote
Nice thread ;)

Also add: LoH (Life on Hit), VW (vile wards), maybe US for uhkapian, VS - Vengeful Spirit rune, HG - Honored Guest rune, MC - Mass Confusion.
Reply Quote
Good work... Nice that pl actually cares about the clas,s the forum and puts in the work!
Reply Quote
APS: Attacks per second

Edit to give some creds:
Glad you did this, was just about to start, now i don't have to and can go look for those 3 damn uniques again. It's been over 10 days i tell you! TEN DAYS!
On one single bloody achievement.
Grr...

Anyway, nice work! :)
Edited by Sensation#2547 on 29/03/2013 08:36 GMT
Reply Quote
APS: Attacks per second

Edit to give some creds:
Glad you did this, was just about to start, now i don't have to and can go look for those 3 damn uniques again. It's been over 10 days i tell you! TEN DAYS!
On one single bloody achievement.
Grr...

Anyway, nice work! :)


Thx :0)

Go get 'em tiger!!
Reply Quote
I swear, the only good thing coming from doing that achievement is that my monk has gained 25 para levels!
Reply Quote
Does anyone even use US for serpent? I thought everyone just said serpent....
Under Z: Zuni = Zunimassa (just in case :p)
And no idea where this goes, but "-bears: reduced zombie charger mana cost"
Reply Quote
29/03/2013 09:17Posted by Phillybear
Does anyone even use US for serpent? I thought everyone just said serpent....


Just at the request of ivu :)
Edited by Arbeia#2259 on 29/03/2013 09:52 GMT
Reply Quote
I heard ppl talking of some 'frog" "chicken" "snake" and "string" ^.^
also some people call sac "c4"
Reply Quote
Also, it's string of skulls, not of souls
Reply Quote
MVP - Diablo III
Posts: 4,927
View profile
Thanks bud :)
Reply Quote
Fean, could you ask this thread to become a sticky?
Seems easier for people to see it.
Most people enter your thread for build information and such.
Reply Quote
Posted by Phillybear
Does anyone even use US for serpent? I thought everyone just said serpent....

Just at the request of ivu :)


You can remove that, not really sure why i wrote that ;)
Reply Quote
Good job! :)
Edited by rzesa#2201 on 30/03/2013 17:32 GMT
Reply Quote
MVP - Diablo III
Posts: 4,927
View profile
I will ask after the Easter weekend no one is there :P
Reply Quote
AR = Acid Rain (most commonly used rune)
wrong passive linked against Zombie Handler
Reply Quote
CHD could be added to critical hit damage section
Good job on this.
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)
Submit Cancel

Reported!

[Close]