StarCraft® II

New to StarCraft II? Try free now
The page you're viewing is not yet available on the new StarCraft II website, but can still be accessed on the Classic site below!

2017 GSL Super Tournament Survival Guide

2017 GSL Super Tournament Survival Guide

The Global StarCraft League (GSL) is widely referenced as the pinnacle of StarCraft II competition in Korea. Each GSL Season, many of the world’s best players compete in matches that are weeks apart; the resulting games featuring carefully planned strategies for each game and each map. In such a format, many weeks of research and preparation dictate how the games will go.

This week’s GSL Super Tournament however, will bring a more “western” format to Korea, as players compete in an action-packed weekend where a champion is crowned from 16 players in just four days. With ₩30,000,000 KRW (~$30,000) on the line, and so little time in between matches, players must rely on their natural playstyles to see them through the tournament. Versatility and stamina are key in a tournament like this, and due to the format’s foreign-style, we are likely to see some extremely unconventional and exciting matches.

 

AfreecaTV

FreecUP Studio

Thursday, April 6th – Sunday April 9th

  • BST: 9:00 a.m.
  • PDT: 1:00 a.m.
  • KST: 5:00 p.m.
  • CEST: 10:00 a.m.
  • English:

  • Korean:

    • Sanghyun Park, Youngjae Hwang, and Jinyoung Park

Total Prize Pool: $30,000,000 KRW & 7,500 WCS KR Points (Total Event)

1st place: 12,000,000 KRW & 1,500 WCS Points

2nd place: 5,000,000 KRW & 1,050 WCS Points

3rd – 4th place: 2,500,000 KRW & 675 WCS Points

5th – 8th place: 1,000,000 KRW & 450 WCS Points

9th – 16th place: 500,000 KRW & 225 WCS Points

Join in on the conversation about these games here!

Visit the new WCS Website for information on this tournament and others, or to learn more about competitive StarCraft II!

Loading Comments…

An error has occurred loading comments.