GSL vs the World: Survival Guide

GSL vs the World: Survival Guide

The global showdown approaches as coaches and teams prepare to face off against the best the world has to offer in this much anticipated all-star event! GSL vs the World will feature both an individual event, as well as a team contest.

Last month, tens of thousands of votes were cast to elect the players who would stand alongside the top WCS point-earners from this year to battle in GSL vs the World. On the side of the GSL stand a hardened group of veterans from the Global StarCraft II League in Seoul, who have been battling consistently in the world's most cutthroat competitive StarCraft II league. Meanwhile, those representing the world have made names for themselves at a variety of global events that stood as part of the WCS Circuit, and will now travel to Seoul to take on the best the GSL has to offer.

 

AfreecaTV/GSL & Blizzard

Seoul, South Korea
GSL Studio: Day 1 - 3

Kyunghee University Peace Palace: Day 4

Day One: Thursday, August 3

  • BST: 10:00 a.m.
  • PDT: 2:00 a.m.
  • KST: 6:00 p.m. 
  • CEST: 11:00 a.m.

Day Two: Friday, August 4

  • BST: 10:00 a.m.
  • PDT: 2:00 a.m.
  • KST: 6:00 p.m. 
  • CEST: 11:00 a.m.

Day Three:

  • Friday, August 4
    • PDT: 11:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 5
    • BST: 7:00 a.m.
    • KST: 3:00 p.m. 
    • CEST: 8:00 a.m.

Day Four:

  • Saturday, August 5
    • PDT: 11:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, August 6
    • BST: 7:00 a.m.
    • KST: 3:00 p.m. 
    • CEST: 8:00 a.m.

Teams:

  • Team GSL:
    • Coach: NesTea
    • Players: herO, ByuN, Dark, sOs, Stats, soO, INnoVation, TY
  • Team World:
    • ​Coach: Stephano
    • Players: ShoWTimE, Kelazhur, Scarlett, Neeb, Serral, Nerchio, SpeCiaL, iAsonu

Individual Contest:

The individual contest is a 16-person single-elimination bracket where each match is a Best of Five series until the finals, which is a Best of Seven series.

Team Contest:

The team contest consists of eight matches where each player from the GSL team will play a member of the World team. If the series ends in a 4-4 tie, an ace match will be played between two players who are selected from each team.

Total Prize Pool: 108,000,000 KRW

1st place: 40,000,000 KRW

2nd place: 15,000,000 KRW

3rd – 4th place: 7,500,000 KRW

5th – 8th place: 4,500,000 KRW

9th – 16th place: 2,500,000 KRW

Join in on the conversation about these games here!

Visit the new WCS Website for information on this tournament and others, or to learn more about competitive StarCraft II!

Loading Comments…

An error has occurred loading comments.