Social anxiety

72 Draenei Shaman
Warning: Wall-o-text incoming.

I've been playing this game for just over two years now and in that time I've seen several threads, both on the official forums and elsewhere, where people talked about social anxiety and WoW. Soloing everything, because grouping is too stressful; not wanting to speak on vent, even though you do fine in gchat (or even gchat is too much); wanting to try raids, starting a /w to that guy in trade who's lfm, but deleting what you wrote rather than pressing enter; selecting a dungeon in the lfd tool, hovering the mouse over the Find Group button, but after a few minutes closing the window instead; not daring to log your char after making a mistake/saying something stupid and starting yet another alt on a different realm; etc, etc.

Yeah, I'm like that too. I've done Naxx once. I vaguely know where Ulduar is (think I did a weekly there once, I probably blocked it from my memory). I was taken on an alt-run to ICC once, with a hardcore raiding guild I was only in because a friend wanted me to join. I was carried, utterly and totally, but it was fun. Until one of the raiders started to complain about low DPS. I hid my character behind a moonkin (thank goodness for big birds!), hoping he wouldn't see me (I wasn't doing that bad, really, but I was terrified he'd single me out). They would've been fine without me, but leaving would've drawn attention to me and that was the last thing I wanted. Afterwards, I had a splitting headache.
From then on, I always had something else to do when they had a spot left over. I didn't last long in that guild, obviously.