Maelstrom Was Created By Deathwing

90 Blood Elf Paladin
Okay, so far WoW lore fans have taken it for granted that the Maelstrom, the gigantic rift at the center of the Great Sea, was formed when the Well of Eternity collapsed into itself during the Great Sundering about 10000 years before WoW's timeline, at the end of the War of the Ancients.

This could not be further from the truth as I will show.

I call myself a Young Maelstrom Creationism Advocate (YMCA), I am an expert on WoW lore, and I believe that the Maelstrom was created by Deathwing around 1 or 2 months ago in WoW's timeline, when the Cataclysm began. Before that it did not exist in Warcraft lore. But when Deathwing decided to break out of Deepholm (which is literally at the center of Azeroth contray to what Elemental Plane theorists say, it's not in the Twisting Nether, it is merely cloaked by a magical layer beneath Azeroth's crust as can be seen in Deepholm's ceiling) he created this rift by shattering the World Pillar into 3 fragments. Why 3? 3 is the number of perfection. If it had been more, Azeroth may have all crumbled.

When the World Pillar was damaged, all the ground above held by this Magical Pillar crumbled and so the Maelstrom was formed. Deathwing then used powerful incantations to break thru the infinite magical substance between Azeroth's crust and Deepholm.

Aggra clearly states that the Maelstrom is a rift between Deepholm and Azeroth and that it threatens to destroy Azeroth. If it had been 10000 years old as War of the Ancients historians say, it would have destroyed Azeroth ages ago:

"We're at the center of the Maelstrom, the rift between Deepholm and our world. Watch, as it threatens to tear our world apart."

"Let us hope Thrall and the others can contain it while you're inside." - Aggra