The Future of WOW- Next Expansions/classes/races

90 Night Elf Monk
Hey all.

I haven't seen much speculation around for a while about the next expansion(s), and I feel it is always fun to think about what will come in future. I am not a lore expert but I know a fair bit, but if there is anything crucial I have overlooked it would be interesting to know.

So I will lay out my beliefs on what will come from the future expansions.

How many will there be?
*One of the most difficult questions as nobody kills a cash-cow like WOW, so I can't see them stopping for a while
*If they do announce the final expansion, this could have serious repercussions on subscribers as people may be put off by the impending end of the game.
*Based on the levels, 100 would seem to be a good place to end it, 2 more expansions of 5 levels each?
*It would be cool to have another 10 level expansion, especially for a final one, one last lvl grind to the end for everyone
*Lots of the obvious expansion ideas have now been realised, meaning there are fewer options, however I am sure the lore could provide for a fair few more

What will they be?
Emerald Dream
This is the major expansion idea that was always predicted but never came. Some were concerned at the lack of environmental diversity of such a zone but this was also a concern with WOTLK and it worked out fine, and besides, a zone such as the emerald dream is almost a blank slate as far as specific details on environment etc. are concerned.

Overall I think there is a decent chance of the Emerald Dream becoming an expansion, as there are not many obvious options anymore, and I dont think they are ready to take us to the final expansion (discussed below) yet. There is also a fair chance that ED will become part of an expansion or just a single zone/instance.

Final showdown against the burning legion