Toxicity - What can be done?

General Discussion
I don't doubt for a second that the dev team are working on ways to curb toxicity in the game, but my question is: Is it even possible?

Peoples habits are a hard thing to change and from my perspective this has been a problem in Overwatch since I started playing. The thing is, I understand people's frustrations. It's annoying when you're a support and your hitscans aren't dealing with the Pharah. It's annoying when you're a tank and you get no healing support. Overwatch is a high-stress competitive shooter, everyone needs to do their part to have a chance of winning, so naturally you get mad when things don't work out. I'm no angel and I'd be lying if I said i'd never vented in the chat. That in itself is no different to most other competitive games.

The problem comes in how those frustrations are manifested in the community. I mainly play competitive shooters: Battlefield 1, PUBG, CS:GO etc, and in none of those games do i receive (or witness on others) the amont of abuse as I do in Overwatch. I'd say i'm pretty thick skinned, but there are times in Overwatch when there is some serious PERSONAL abuse going on. IMO there is a pretty big difference between telling someone to "git gud" and telling someone to kill themselves. Both of those statements are about as common as each other in Overwatch.

I think the problem lies in the core gameplay. Overwatch is extremely intense to play, during a match you probably have less than 30 seconds where action isn't happening. This is obviously what makes the game both great to play and watch. But when the intensity is so high, the stress of the players is naturally at the same level. People are going to react, and very few people are willing to hold their hands up and say "my bad, i missed that pick, didn't heal you in time etc,etc" when their state of mind is so tense.