How friendly for new players these days?

Multiplayer Discussion
Hello, I recently started playing SC2 and I was thinking about trying multiplayer.

However I'm a bit intimidated because even though I did play SC back in the day I did only against AI, and considering SC2 has been out for quite a while I'm sure the community at this point is pretty much full of veterans so there's maybe little to do even at the bottom of the pit.

So my question is: how good/bad is it? Has anyone been in a similar position recently and if so could you share your impressions? I see forums are not that active but anyways, no hurry (finishing Zerg campaign at the moment)

Thanks
If you had ladder anxiety in the past you will probably have ladder anxiety now too.
The best way to find out, naturally is to just go and play and see for yourself. If you find it intimidating, I'd suggest you to try out co-op commanders mode.
Its 2 players playing versus 2 computers but with armies/buildings themed around your "commander".
I think you will never be GM or Masters. Maybe you will never even reach diamond.
Does this make you an idiot or an inferior human being?
No.

I think this is the most important part. Try to embrace your losses. Try to appreciate the time someone else takes to teach you something.
I believe that playing Sc2 ranked/unranked matches and learning how to learn from losses can even help people with depression.

Would you like to get better at Starcraft 2?
If yes, just pick a race and start with the ranked matches.

Upload your replays so we can help you to the next level step by step.
drop.sc
gggreplays.com
sc2replaystats.com
Post the links on this thread or on a new thread on the US forums.

And remember to always write "gl hf" at the start and "gg wp" at the end.
You played well even if you lost a game in a terrible way. Period.

Don't forget to grab some food/drink before you start training.