Can I play Starcraft 2 on Linux?

Gaming, Entertainment and Science
I've recently decided to switch to Linux. I've got no experience but I learn fast. I did my research and I found a post about this user that got banned after trying to run Diablo 3 on Linux. I know that the two games and teams are very different, but I do think I should ask now instead of writing numerous tickets in panic after something bad happens.
So - will Starcraft 2 recognise the newest Ubuntu and what are the chances of something going wrong and me losing the ability to play my favorite game in the future?
No, supported platforms are Windows and Mac OS X. It may run under WINE though.
Works perfectly fine under WINE for me. There was (or still is) one major issue with HotS campaign. When you tried to get bonus objectives for Kerrigan levels you got a crash every time, but after 2secs of google you can find the cure.
You can, but as said above.
You need WINE

You also need to run a few wine tricks to get it to work properly.
ie6 sound=alsa coresounds vcrun2005

Also, it is advised to run it in full-screen windowed mode on a WINE DESKTOP to avoid messy issues with GDM (KDM is less affected but it does occasionally screw up)

Lastly, expect a average fps drop of around 15 whenever you turn on shadows.

http://i.imgur.com/pro7cl8.jpg

13/04/2013 19:12Posted by tomavagyok
When you tried to get bonus objectives for Kerrigan levels you got a crash every time,

The cure is rather simple.. get rid of pulseaudio ;)
Make that KUbuntu.

I informed myself about "Wine" and "PlayOnLinux", I was just asking about the dangers of getting banned. But you people saved me an hour or more of wandering in google!

Also, my computer can run Starcraft 2 HotS on Ultra graphics with no lag (as long as it's not 4v4), so I believe that it should be able to handle it under Linux. Even if it doesn't, people tell me that disabling shadows can result in easier recognition of units, buildings, etc.