Where is the community?

General
I recently started playing again after a 7 or 8 year break. In the past I've been raiding in a semi-casual guild that was pretty succesfull in Classic, TBC and WOTLK, but I quit after reaching level 85. Starting again after all these years gives a great perspective in all the things that changed since the last time I've played.

In my opinion a lot of things turned out to be better gamingwise. I enjoy questing more, espcially the different story lines, the cutscenes and voiced characters also give a better gaming experience. The biggest change, however, is not in gaming experience but in community.

I've been playing on the Alliance side of Kor'gall ever since the server went live in 2005. With its ups and downs there always was a playerbase which knew each other fairly well, there were some 'big' raiding or pvp guilds that were known on both sides, plus there were some great realm discussions on the realm forums.

After coming back I noticed:
1) Battlegroups aren't only a matter of PvP anymore but they're visible in guilds/world as well.
2) There barely is any communication between players anymore.
3) Faction balancing is completely gone which caused old communities to scatter across other realms.
4) Realmforums are dead.

Battlegroups aren't only a matter of PvP anymore but they're visible in guilds/world as well.
At first I thought this was a cool idea to make a realm look more alive. But as I see it now this is just a way of treating the symptoms rather than the actual problems that face dead realms. I noticed this in two ways:
- While trying to get my old guildname back on the realm, I noticed charters cannot be signed by people on other realms in the same battlegroup. This diminishes the experience of a fuller realm.
- It's harder to /who and /friend people. Usually goes along with '0 people show

There barely is any communication between players anymore.
Questing has been made easier.