Sylvanas ordered the Wrathgate massacre

Story
"I've heard these discussions on the internet about 'she's going off the rails', but is she? I've been writing Sylvanas personally since 2006, and this is pretty much - the Wrathgate and the Blight and the Forsaken - in character. Those were all under Sylvanas' orders. What we're seeing now is an escalation of the plans Sylvanas has, clearly, and we're in the middle of that.

A quote from Afrasiabi in his new interview with Eurogamer
https://www.eurogamer.net/amp/2018-11-08-world-of-warcraft-and-the-masterplan-for-sylvanas

Not sure if there's a thread already, but...

Why?
Why reveal this in some stupid interview?
Why retcon it at all?
There's no retcon at all. Chronicles Volume 3 already hinted at the possibility of Sylvanas being aware of the Wrathgate before it even happened.
12/11/2018 20:20Posted by Qahnarin
Wrathgate and the Blight and the Forsaken - in character. Those were all under Sylvanas' orders.

There is another thread.

And there has been some clarification already that he could have been referring to the fact that she planned on using the Blight against Arthas in the Wrathgate, but that then Putress took it for himself, and used it for his coup.

Using the Blight in the Wrathgate was indeed her plan. She didn't plan to use it the way Putress did.
She of course knew about the Blight that was being created.
12/11/2018 20:26Posted by Zarao
12/11/2018 20:20Posted by Qahnarin
Wrathgate and the Blight and the Forsaken - in character. Those were all under Sylvanas' orders.

There is another thread.

And there has been some clarification already that he could have been referring to the fact that she planned on using the Blight against Arthas in the Wrathgate, but that then Putress took it for himself, and used it for his coup.

Using the Blight in the Wrathgate was indeed her plan. She didn't plan to use it the way Putress did.