Using flying mounts in water

General
Ever since I started playing this game, like a month ago, I loved every aspect of it - from leveling, questing, dungeoning to occasional PvP combat. Then I got my first flying mount in Outland and after a while of using it as a primary mount I was stunned to see that it can - fly underwater! Yep, that's right, my bird flies both above and under sea level :)
Of course, landing into water while on a flying mount was my "fault", but I honestly expected it to automatically dismount or something.
Anyway, I was just wandering why is it that people can use flying mounts underwater?
Well technically they're not "flying" but rather "swimming", perhaps with flying animations idk, but still :)
Not all flying mounts can swim though.
08/01/2013 20:55Posted by Kargon

Indeed.

Disc of the Red Flying Cloud being one of them.
Most animals can swim, even the flying ones.
Mind you, the gnomish flying machine should not work underwater.

Several of them even have specific swimming animations.
08/01/2013 20:49Posted by Leapin
Well technically they're not "flying" but rather "swimming", perhaps with flying animations idk, but still :)

That's true, but it's still kind of an annoyance to see a bird spread out it's wings and "fly" through water. I'd rather if it would just auto-dismount when getting into water.

08/01/2013 20:55Posted by Kargon

Yeah, I read somewhere that Flying Carpet gets all wet and dismounts :)
08/01/2013 20:47Posted by Archtania
Of course, landing into water while on a flying mount was my "fault", but I honestly expected it to automatically dismount or something.

Alll mounts (even land ones) used to dismount the moment you got in water (even if it wasn't all that deep), but I guess they deemed it very irritating. Pandaren Kite mounts seem buggy though or just don't have underwater animations and dismount if you go into the water.